Susan Lindahl Memorial Scholarship
Share |


The Susan Lindahl Memorial Scholarship was established in 1998. Susan, the wife of our founding president Joe Lindahl, passed away following a battle with a brain tumor in 1997. This scholarship fund was established in her honor recognizing the sacrifices Susan and Joe underwent getting the PAOS off the ground and sustaining the organization in the early years.

The establishment of this memorial scholarship fund was to cultivate and attract young physician assistant students into the field of orthopaedics. Initially, one $500 scholarship was awarded to an outstanding second year PA student. This award has grown over the past 15 years, and funds permitting, will continue to award two (2) $5,000 scholarships each year. Each year during the Annual PAOS CME Conference, PAOS will honor each recipient with their scholarship award. The PAOS hopes that this scholarship will attract deserving students who are considering a career in orthopaedics.  

The Susan Lindahl Memorial Scholarship Fund is a 501(c)(3) organization and donations are tax-deductible. 


Application Requirements

Scholarship deadline:  April 1, 2018

The following are required for consideration as a candidate for this educational award. All required written material must be in Word or PDF files and sent to:

  • Must be a current PA student in a current CAAHEA/CAAHEP or ARC-PA approved program
  • Must be a student member of Physician Assistants in Orthopaedic Surgery in good standing
  • Must be a first or second-year student with a sincere interest in becoming a physician assistant in orthopaedics
  • A letter of reference from your PA Program Director
  • Two (2) reference letters from current/prior professors OR Orthopaedic surgeon/PA with direct knowledge of prior work history in the field of orthopaedics
  • Cover letter (no more than one page, single spaced) stating your interest in orthopaedics, including prior education, work experience, other supporting activities
  • Cover sheet that includes: name, email, PA program, anticipated graduation date, and any prior education

We offer two $5000 scholarships per year

The top 5 candidates will be required to write a professional publish-worthy, orthopaedic case study, review article or clinical pearl (between 1,000 - 1,500 words with appropriate reference) for review by the scholarship committee. If selected as one of the scholarship recipients, you will be invited to attend the annual conference to present your paper and network with the Board of Directors (expenses paid). If you are unable to attend because of education obligations, your presentation may be made through a poster or power point presentation to be displayed at the PAOS Annual Conference. All written material received in the application process will be property of the Physician Assistants in Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. and can be used in future media as the Susan Lindahl Memorial Scholarship Board of Directors deems appropriate.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at:

Gary Sakryd, MS, PA-C, ATC
Scholarship Committee
Susan Lindahl Memorial Scholarship

Past Winners

Congratulations to our 2017 Scholarship Winners:  Each recipient received a $5,000 scholarship award.


Jason Roberto, PA-S

Philadelphia University
Philadelphia PA


Heather Schneider, PA-S

Baylor College of Medicine
Houston TX



Congratulations to our 2016 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $2,500.00 scholarship award

  • Bridget Van Boxtel, PA-S (Rocky Mountain College, Billings MT)
  • Daniel Taylor, PA-S (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill NC)

Congratulations to our 2015 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $2,500.00 scholarship award

  • Adam Cady, PA-S (Duke University)
  • Katherine Senkosky, PA-S (Albany Medical College)

Congratulations to our 2014 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $2,500.00 scholarship award

  • Cristin Henry, PA-S (Medical University of South Carolina)
  • Kristen Elizabeth Downing, PA-S (Marietta College)

Congratulations to our 2013 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $1,500.00 scholarship award

  • Laura Behr, PA-S (Rush University)
  • Krista Niezwaag, PA-S (Marquette University)

Congratulations to our 2012 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $1,000.00 scholarship award

  • Bridget Barron, PA-S (Pacific University)
  • Matthew Cole, PA-S (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Jackson Ferguson, PA-S (Oregon Health & Science University)

Congratulations to our 2011 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $1,000.00 scholarship award

  • Dalan Garcia, PA-S (Western University of Health Sciences)
  • Sheela Patel, PA-S (Kettering College of Medial Arts)
  • Nicole McAlvin-Reichart, PA-S (Albany Medical College)

Congratulations to our 2010 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $1,000.00 scholarship award

  • Martin Stancil, PA-S (Emory University)
  • Shannon Dugan, PA-S (Emory University)
  • Luis Garcia, PA-S (Duke University)

Congratulations to our 2009 Scholarship Winners: Each winner received a $1,000.00 scholarship award

  • Kate Gumersell, PA-S (Drexel University)
  • Karen Polchinski, PA-S (Philadelphia University)
  • Daniel Thrush, PA-S (Arcadia University)